Some states have decriminalized marijuana and even legalized it for medical or recreational use. South Carolina, however, is not one of those states, and the penalties for possession of even a small amount can be severe.
According to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws, it is a misdemeanor to possess less than an ounce in South Carolina. Your first time being caught with any amount of marijuana can lead to 30 days of jail time and a fine of up to $200. Being caught again after one conviction can potentially lead to a punishment ten times harsher, as the incarceration period can be as much as one year and the fine can be up to $2,000.
Cultivation of marijuana
Growing any quantity of marijuana is a felony offense in South Carolina, and if you are caught growing less than 100 plants, it can land you with a fine of up to $5,000, and you could be sent to prison for up to five years. Growing more than 100 plants is handled very severely by the courts, and typically the minimum sentence is 25 years in prison, with the fines ranging from $25,000 to $200,000 depending on how many plants you were growing.
Sale of marijuana
Selling marijuana is also a felony with fines as high as $200,000. You may get up to five years of prison time if caught selling less than 10 pounds, but selling 100 pounds or more will typically end up with a minimum of 25 years behind bars.
This article is informative in nature and should not be taken as legal advice.